Village for collecting rent
In 1208 the Holy Roman Emperor, Otto IV pawned the imperial domains around Blankenburg and Saalfeld to the two Schwarzburg counts, Heinrich and GŁnther.
In 1292, Quittelsdorf was a village where rents were collected for the Counts of Schwarzburg-Blankenburg. Farmers came to pay their rents with a portion of their produce and labour. The monks of Paulinzella were collecting the rents at Quittelsdorf in 1441.
After the dissolution of the monastries in 1534, Quittelsdorf and the surrounding district passed to the Counts of Schwarzburg. Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt became a Principality in 1700 and continued as a sovereign state until 1920, when it formed part of the new state of Thuringia.
Founded by the Saxon aristocrat Paulina and her twelve followers as Marienzelle. This monastery was renamed Paulinzella after her death and expanded over the centuries. The monastery owned 19 villages as well as other property in 52 places and collected rent from more than 100 villages. After the dissolution of the monastry in the year 1534 these possessions passed to of the counts of Schwarzburg.
Around 1800 the ruins began to attract attention becuase of inreased interest in the Middle Ages. Goethe and Schiller came as visitors to Paulinzella.
In old writings and documents Leutnitz is mentioned as Lutenit in 1387and as Lutenicz in 1411.
Copyright © 2002-10 friedrichfroebel.com. All rights reserved.
Froebitz is nestled in the Thuringian Forest of pine trees and firs. It is untouched by modernity, just a few farm houses surrounded by fields and woods.